Dr. Seuss Was an Adventurer

Or at least that’s what I like to think. I could very easily peruse the net, but i won’t. I like to create my own ideas about the man. To wit, he’s an adventurer, a hiker and quite possibly an arborist.

On Friday evening critter bug and I drove out to Joshua Tree National Park. The moon was about half full and Buckley’s headlights illumined the Joshua Trees as we drove on that windy road in search of a camping spot. Those trees out there remind me of something Dr. Seuss would muster. And in the evening, with the darkness enshrouding us, Tim Burton also made us a visit, as the long, giraffe-like necks of those pillars in the earth stood tall against the pitch-painted night sky. I’d like to think Seuss and Burton would get along swimmingly. But perhaps only in the confines of an art studio, an office or something of its ilk.

Anyhow, what I’m trying to say is this: I saw remnants of Seuss out there. Semblances, memories of these dark imaginative nights blow east, manufacturing footsteps in the head of some wayward wanderer, some hiker, some future mind.

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=Joshua+Tree&iid=103276″ src=”0099/25496a8a-c694-423a-bae9-8ca840b2e66d.jpg?adImageId=12572657&imageId=103276″ width=”380″ height=”253″ /]

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

