Careful, or you’ll end up in my novel

That funny little phrase is written on a shirt I just now designated as my “writing shirt.” It is a simple t-shirt, gray with the phrase lettered across the front. The font, I believe, is Times New Roman, which is not my favorite (that being Courier New); but it works. To be honest, I just started wearing it. It being much too large, the initial use was more or less sparse and intermittent, with casual showings in the moments preceding bedtime. And to that point, I hardly see myself as the cool, rapper-type with the short-sleeved shirts that were made as such but appear to be more like long-sleeved shirts with their ends at wrists and ankles; and the similarly cool and baggy jean pants. That’s just not my style.

Regardless of whether or not this t-shirt, my “writing shirt,” serves its purpose as novelty, I don’t mind. It serves its practical purpose, and that’s all that matters. As I see it, it is appropriate in three different ways:

One) I am writing a novel. So really, be careful, or you’ll end up in it.

Two) Because it is a larger size than I would typically adorn, it is perfect for that casual, comfortable fit I prefer while writing- of which I do at home.

Three) Above all, it speaks to what I’ve pointed out in previous posts: that we as writers use what’s around us. We write what we know, or what we think we know, or what we imagine knowing. All of which is based in living, and experiencing.

So be careful, for you may become a character in A Thousand Screaming Rabbits. (Hat Tip to Cynthia Dobson)

Project Update: I’m nearly through Chapter Six. Alasdair is making discoveries in the Arizona desert. He muses, wishing he were Indiana Jones, if only for a moment.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Careful, or you’ll end up in my novel

  1. Cynthia Dobson says:

    Back at you with the hat tip. Hope you have many enjoyable hours writing and relaxing in your oversized T-shirt. Whatever it takes to get the creative juices flowing.

Leave a Reply

