Friends In Writing

I have quite a few friends who would consider themselves writers. Or, as some would say, “aspiring writers,” but I don’t like that particular term; it tells your audience that you want to be a writer, not that you are a writer. That you have a chance of being a writer someday, but you’re not there yet. In other words, you want to be a writer, but you would only classify yourself as such if-and when- you are published, have an agent, finish a novel, and the list goes on and on until it just amounts to another excuse not to write. So I say, if you write, call yourself a writer!

Anyhow, as I was saying, I have writer friends. Some are spectacular wordsmiths but they can’t seem to form those words into anything much more than daily journals, random observations and film reviews (which are all great forms of writing, but I am speaking about fiction). Some of my friends have amazing ideas but they fail, over and over again, to expound upon the ideas. Some are exquisite writers, already have a few completed novel manuscripts behind them, but have yet to be majorly published (much to mine, his and, really, the world’s chagrin). Some excel, have much to learn (I would certainly fall into this category), but keep at it because they know someday, someone will read the novel and deem that worthy enough to publish on some level. And I would say all of these writer friends do, in fact, love writing. It’s cathartic, and impassioned, and just simply gosh darn brilliant.

With a few of them, I enjoy ‘ talking shop.’ And this is why it’s nice to have Friends In Writing. Talking plot shifts, character progressions, themes, and ideas- these are the sort of topics that have great potential to be positive fodder. Even if it’s something minor, a certain word you were searching for, or a particular means to escape from a dead end, these moments inspire, refresh, and enliven. It’s a wonderful place to be- which brings me to my second point.

It’s good to have a reader. That’s what one particular writer friend told me once. And I agree. I suppose the question would be, at what point do you let your reader go at it? Is it from the outset? Or at the end? Or is it somewhere in the middle? I haven’t figured that out yet. When I do, I will let you know. In the meanwhile, I’d be curious to know what you think. For you writers, do you agree with the idea of a reader? If so, who is your reader? And at what point does that reader take part in the process?

In closing, I’ll leave you with the concise, yet oh so eloquent, phrase that is written on the piece of paper that faces me every time I sit down at my writing table:

Write, write, write

[picapp src=”0305/0000305639.jpg?adImageId=5631012&imageId=308915″ width=”368″ height=”463″ /]

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 thoughts on “Friends In Writing

  1. jdobs says:

    Love the picture. Why can’t I look that way when I write!?

Leave a Reply

