20 Books to Read Before Age 16

At canadianfamily.ca, they list the 20 Books Every ‘Tween and Teen Should Read Before They Hit 16.

Like the AbeBooks Blog, I agree that To Kill a Mockingbird should be read before you turn 16. Treasure Island and Catcher in the Rye, despite my misgivings for the book at present, are also a must for the teen and pre-teen crowd.

Macbeth I am not sure about. Same goes for Treasure Island. Hugo Cabret is good, but not sure it should be on the list.

In regards to the other books on the list, I can’t say much because I haven’t read them myself. The Golden Compass, I hear, is excellent. We have it on Blu-Ray and enjoy quite thoroughly.

I would probably add Maniac Magee, Fahrenheit 451, Gulliver’s Travels and Little Brother.

What would you add?

Gulliver's Travels by Jonathan Swift

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

