Prostitutes in the Desert

Or perhaps that is what they want of me. Prostitutes and strippers and booze galore.

Hey, it’s my bachelor party. Or event. Or excursion to Joshua Tree. And if we’re talkin’ semantics (sort of like Talkin’ John Birch Paranoid Blues, from this wonderful album) then it should be called, quite simply, a camping trip. And it was. But strippers ain’t my thing.

That’s not me. No sir.

I’m the guy who likes to sit and talk about Aristotle. I don’t want to play beer pong.
I want to hear about what’s going on in your life. I don’t want to mingle with strangers.
And I certainly don’t need to eat meat to feel like a man. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I like peace and quiet, crossword puzzles, bookish explorations on weekend evenings.
I like to challenge myself, and you, mentally, philosophically, emotionally.

I want to live my life to the fullest, certainly. But fullest in the sense that I desire to be productive, to be mindful, to waste not of the time I have (the only time we have) and to emphasize those facets wholly and wholeheartedly.

You see, I know what I want, I know who I am, what I like. Granted, these things may change over time. But as I understand it now- as it is gleaned and implemented- I know how I want to live my life. Strippers, prostitutes (should be legal, by the way) and copious amounts of booze ain’t it.

Though I am just musing here. The weekend, the bachelor event- or camping trip- was enjoyable. Kyle, Jeff, Matt and Tannen, I love you very much. Let’s do it again next year.

Base Camp - Joshua Tree May 2010

Rocks Reach to the Skies Here

Jeff Gives the Thumbs Up to Nature

Climbing Rocks - Kyle, Tannen and Myself With The Doris Day Pose

A Backdrop of Sandy Caramels

Non and Jeff Look Out for RattleSnakes

Calm, Collected Lizard King

Relaxing Under the Shade of the Joshua (not Yucca) Trees

SPF 70? Check. Sun Hat? Check. Hiking Pack With Jeff's Snake Killin' Rocks? Check.

It Totally Beat the Hare

Kyle, Non and Tannen - We Are So Cool

Before We Hit the Road - Tannen, Non, Kyle, Jeff and Matt (from left)

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Prostitutes in the Desert

  1. jdobs says:

    Snake killing rocks are awesome! Are they shaped like Rikki Tikki Tavi? I think a man weekend should include snake killing, but you should have to do it with your bare hands.

  2. Ha, no Rikki Tikki Tavi-shaped rocks unfortunately. And yes, Jeff should have been charging snakes like Bear (man, not animal) does it.

Leave a Reply

