The Pill and Its Prison

So we- as in stupid kids and drug addicts– can purchase painkillers and sedatives over-the-counter, but we- as in responsible women- “have to go begging every year to (the) doctors and every month to the pharmacist behind the high counter” (via Hit & Run).

I say we Let the Pill Go Free!

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=birth+control+pill&iid=8510240″ src=”http://view4.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/8510240/birth-control-pills/birth-control-pills.jpg?size=500&imageId=8510240″ width=”336″ height=”508″ /]

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “The Pill and Its Prison

  1. Tara says:

    I was just talking about how I have to go every year just to get my BC. I know it’s a good idea to go but if I run out and can’t get an appointment….that just ruins my week.

  2. Perhaps it’s the “sexual” nature of it. That is, dimwits at the FDA are power-hungry bureaucrats on this planet to ‘protect’ us from the choices, the decisions we have every right to make. Sex, drugs, rock n’ roll. Hell, if I want a condom, I shouldn’t have to wait until the pimply 16-year old behind the counter unlocks the plastic case.

  3. Kim says:

    I couldn’t agree more! Less attention spent on things like appointments for everyone annually for BC pills could free up time and money for things that need more attention. I also think it isn’t just sexual in nature, it’s gender oriented also.

  4. Well said Kim. You’re right, it is gender-oriented also. In what ways do you consider it so?

Leave a Reply

