My Top Ten Scary Movies

I wanted to create a Top Ten Scary Books list for All Hallow’s Eve, but I don’t read much of the genre, and so I couldn’t come up with ten. So here’s my alternative.

My Top Ten Scary Movies:

  1. Alien (Dir. Ridley Scott, 1979)
  2. Psycho (Dir. Alfred Hitchcock, 1960)
  3. Jaws (Dir. Steven Spielberg, 1975)
  4. The Silence Of the Lambs (Dir. Jonathan Demme, 1991)
  5. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (Dir. Tobe Hooper, 1974)
  6. Halloween (Dir. John Carpenter, 1978)
  7. The Descent (Dir. Neil Marshall, 2005)
  8. Night of The Living Dead (Dir. George Romero, 1968)
  9. The Evil Dead (Dir. Sam Raimi, 1981)
  10. Frankenstein (Dir. James Whale, 1931)

Honorable mentions:

  1. Wait Until Dark (Dir. Terence Young, 1967)
  2. Dead Alive (Dir. Peter Jackson, 1992)
  3. Event Horizon (Dir. Paul W.S. Anderson, 1997)
  4. Dracula (Dir. Tod Browning, 1931)
  5. King Kong (Dir. Merian C. Cooper, 1933)

How about you? What are some of your favorite creepy/scary movies?

The Evil Dead Directed by Sam Raimi

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “My Top Ten Scary Movies

  1. Jake Kilroy says:

    E.T. (Dir. Steven Spielberg, 1982)

  2. E.T. ?! You are screwy, sir. What else?

  3. rory says:

    how bout poltergeist (sorry if i spelled that wrong) also the ring and the first time you saw blair witch you know you had the lights on. throw in some steven king maybe, how bout the Shining. but still a good list.

  4. Rory,

    Ah yes. Poltergeist is a good one. Genuinely frightening. The Ring, I thought, was kind of tame. I didn’t like it.

    Blair Witch was pretty scary the first time. You’re right! And The Shining is pretty creepy too. 🙂

  5. Jake says:

    Three movies I remember asking my dad to turn off as a kid because they were too intense for me:

    – “War Of The Worlds” (Dir. Byron Haskin, 1953)

    – “Radon” (Dir. Ishirō Honda, 1956)

    – “Birds” (Dir. Alfred Hitchcock, 1963)

  6. I’ve never seen the original War of the Worlds film. Nor have I seen Radon. Birds is creepy, for certain.

    Have you seen The Witches? That one scared me. Oh, and the Peanut Butter Solution.

Leave a Reply

