I Am Thankful For

…my wife, Jessica. I am thankful that we’re in each others’ lives, that we love one another, and that we aim to spend the rest of our lives together. I am thankful for my family-in-law and their ever constant support, love, and goofiness. I am thankful that my mom has found a way to be happy again, removed from the burden of an abusive marriage. I am thankful for my brothers; for T’s improving health. I am thankful that Najeeb asked my sister Claire for her hand in marriage.

I am thankful for my job, and that it challenges and rewards everyday. I am thankful for writing, and the Monday evenings I spend with J and J.

I am thankful for Suzanne Collins’ superb Hunger Games trilogy. I am thankful for Mark Twain’s auto-biography. I am thankful for the 7th Harry Potter film.

I am thankful for capitalism, and the productivity and prowess the system rewards.

I am thankful for Mimi and Eunice, Cory Doctorow, Adam Carolla, Latitude 33 Bookshop, Christopher Hitchens and Michael Shermer.

I am thankful for the courage to finally tell people – my family, friends – about my slow, gradual shift to casual, or “friendly”, atheist. And I am wholeheartedly thankful for the clarity that brings.

I am thankful for you, my readers.

Thank you. And have a swell Thanksgiving.

All of The Colors and Flavors of Thanksgiving

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “I Am Thankful For

  1. Jessica says:

    Aww. I am thankful for every day with you.

  2. You’re the best Jessica. I couldn’t imagine a life without your goofiness and love.

Leave a Reply

