Weeping Like a Wussy Pants: Films That Made Me Cry

I had a conversation with a friend recently about the films that make us cry (or “tear up,” which I suspect is the less weak, more “manly” version of full-fledged crying). His criteria included big, rousing scenes of applause, especially in terms of some sporting achievement. Think of Hoosiers. But he also mentioned Mr. Holland’s Opus, which I’ve never seen, but I equated, rather haphazardly, to Angels in the Outfield. My criteria is a bit different. And after I started to go through the list, I realized that many of the films that have made me cry involve an animal being hurt, or, heaven forbid(!), killed. Some didn’t though.

But alas, here is my list (and Weep Rating, on a scale from 1 to 10 Tears) of Films That Made Me Cry (or Weep Like a Wussy Pants):

  • Old Yeller – A timeless tale of a young boy and his dog. If you are a pet person, this will undoubtedly make you cry. It affected me similar to the way Where The Red Fern Grows did. Weep Rating: 7 Tears
  • The Lion King – Oh my goodness. When Mufasa died, I was wrecked. I remember thinking, gosh, lions with scars on their faces are a-holes. Weep Rating: 8 Tears
  • Up – The first 10 minutes is comprised of some of the most tender and heartfelt moments I’ve seen in film to date. Weep Rating: 9 Tears
  • My Girl – I remember wanting to be little Tom Sennett (Culkin). With the quirks and Dan Akroyd as father, and the friendship with the adorable (then) Anna Chlumsky. But in the end, with the bees? Holy crap. Weep Rating: 7 Tears
  • The Fox and the Hound – Adorable fox meets adorable hound. And then they grow up! And are forced, as nature would claim, to be enemies! This is one of my all-time favorites. But it gets me every time. Weep Rating: 8 Tears
  • Bridge to Terabithia – This is a recent addition, having picked up the Blu-Ray a year or two ago. It’s based on a book of the same name, and stars Josh Hutcherson, and in a small role, Zooey Deschanel. I love the adventures the two characters have together, and the imaginations they use to break away. The sad part, well that sneaks up on you. Oy. Weep Rating: 8 Tears
  • Grave of the Fireflies – My favorite war film of all-time. And surely the saddest. Weep Rating: 9 Tears
  • Radio Flyer – This I remember watching as an adolescent and finding a certain bittersweet solace in its characters. Recognizable and wanting to protect them. Ultimately, this story is a devastating one, and it kills me every time. Weep Rating: 10 Tears

What about you? Which films would make your list?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Weeping Like a Wussy Pants: Films That Made Me Cry

  1. Laura says:

    YES! I rate Grave of the Fireflies 10 tears!

    i also cry in Stepmom (don’t laugh!)
    Little Women (1994 version)
    Bambi
    Dumbo

  2. GOTF is so sad. But soo good.

    Ah StepMom. I think I got a bit teary-eyed in that too. It’s a bit sappy, but enjoyable enough. Definitely agree with Bambi. And I need to revisit Dumbo. I haven’t seen that in ages!

  3. Jessica says:

    Jim says his tear jerker movie is Field of Dreams

    I am a blubbering mess when I watch Steel Magnolias! I have snot running down my face and everything. Oh, and Bridesmaids, but I say it is because of all my school stress that forced me into an over-emotional state.

  4. Jessica says:

    Cold-hearted Natalie says she experienced some unexpected moisture around her eyes during the movie A League of Their Own but it could have been dust.

  5. Field of Dreams is a good choice. Sad scene with father and son. But I sort of had this irrational aversion to it (or, rather, I willed myself not to be affected by it) because my father loved that scene. Irrational, I know.

    I need to see SM.

  6. Tara says:

    Turner and Hooch with Tom Hanks. Cry like a baby every time!

  7. Good one Tara! I love that movie.

  8. Jake says:

    I recall the last scene of Mr. Holland’s Opus flooding my brain with tears. I nearly drowned in emotions.

Leave a Reply

