The Irrelevancy of Age

I’m nearing 30 and I’m wondering what all the fuss is about. I don’t feel any different. A few more “wisdoms,” (wisdoms is what Jessica and I call gray hair, and perhaps that’s a denial or a camouflaging of age in itself) but that’s all. Or perhaps it’s just too soon. Perchance I turn 40. Then 50. What then? Metabolism slows. Mind wanes. Kids weaken. Or you can say that I’m just not there yet. I’m 30, still young, still “in the prime.” But again, aren’t we only limited by our will? I know guys nearing their 60s who still run around and do all of the things they were doing when they were in their 30s, only with more aches and pains. But they keep it up. Age, and the activities socially constructed for said age, are irrelevant to them. They do what they want to do. And I wish for the same. I yearn for the same.

What do you think? Do you agree, or do you think I am just being naive, the young whippersnapper who just doesn’t know any better. I mean, hell, you’re only 30 for christ’s sake.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

